NIMH T32 Biobehavioral Issues in Mental and Physical Health

The primary goal of this program is to train research scientists in the development and application of basic theories and research in psychology to issues of physical and mental health and their interrelationship. Our program for predoctoral students and postdoctoral fellows includes coursework and intensive supervised research in laboratory, clinical, and community settings. The program faculty has strong expertise in a number of important biobehavioral processes relevant to mental health and physical illness including stress processes, racial and ethnic disparities, comorbidities across the lifespan, and health promotion and prevention. These areas of concentration in the program are supplemented by expertise among the faculty in human and animal models of specific mental disorders and physical diseases. All predoctoral and postdoctoral fellows must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States, and applicants are not eligible if they have received 3 years of prior PHS support. Under-represented minorities are encouraged to apply.


Specifics on Predoctoral Fellowships

The NIMH training grant currently funds 2 to 4 fellowships for predoctoral trainees in health psychology or other areas of psychology. Students are typically appointed in their second or third year of training and are usually funded for two years. The training grant pays for tuition and fees and provides an annual stipend set by NIH ($25,320 per year in 2020-2021), plus health insurance, conference travel funds, and some training-related expenses. Invitations to apply for openings are circulated to all Psychology graduate students when they occur, typically in March. All trainees have a primary and secondary sponsor among the training faculty.


Specifics on Postdoctoral Fellowships

The NIMH training grant currently funds 2 fellowships for postdoctoral trainees focusing on mental health as it intersects with any of our other areas of expertise. Applicants must have completed a PhD in an accredited psychology program or related field. Openings are advertised and inquiries are accepted at any time. Each postdoctoral fellow enters the program with a designated primary and secondary faculty mentor, one of which is typically from the core faculty.


Core Faculty – Department/School

Director: Chris Dunkel Schetter, Distinguished Professor of Psychology/Psychiatry

CoDirectors: Julienne Bower, Professor of Psychology/ Psychiatry

Annette Stanton, Distinguished Professor of Psychology/Psychiatry and Chair of Psychology


Affiliated Faculty/Mentors – Department/School

Bridget Callaghan, Assistant Professor of Psychology 

Judith Carroll, Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences

Denise Chavira, Professor of Psychology

Steve Cole, Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology-Oncology, Professor of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences

Michelle Craske, Distinguished Professor of Psychology

Naomi Eisenberger, Professor of Psychology

Craig Enders, Professor of Psychology

Michael Fanselow, Distinguished Professor of Psychology

Michael Irwin, Cousins Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, Distinguished Professor of Psychology, Director of Cousins Center for Psychoneuroimmunology

Katherine Karlsgodt, Associate Professor of Psychology

Anna Lau, Professor of Psychology

Steve Lee, Professor of Psychology

Amanda Montoya, Assistant Professor of Psychology

Lara Ray, Professor of Psychology

Theodore Robles, Professor of Psychology

Teresa Seeman, Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Geriatrics, Professor of Epidemiology at the Fielding School of Public Health and of Medicine

Jennifer Silvers, Assistant Professor of Psychology

Jennifer Sumner, Assistant Professor of Psychology